Do you know that civilian award was briefly suspended twice in its history. The first suspension occurred after Morarji Desai was sworn in as the fourth Prime Minister of India in 1977. His government withdrew all personal civil honours on 13 July 1977 and past recipients were asked not to use the awards as a title. The suspension was rescinded on 25 January 1980 after Indira Gandhi again became the Prime Minister. The civilian awards were suspended again in mid-1992 when two Public-Interest Litigations were filed, one in the Kerala High Court and another in the Madhya Pradesh High Court, challenging “the constitutional validity” of the awards. The awards were reintroduced by the Supreme Court of India in December 1995 following the conclusion of the litigation.