The title “Emperor of India” did not disappear with Indian independence from Britain in 1947, but in 1948, as when India became the Dominion of India (1947–1950) after independence in 1947, George VI retained the title “Emperor of India” until 22 June 1948, and thereafter he remained monarch of India until it became the Republic of India in 1950.